cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Challenge #3 Month over Month Growth Rate

Rasha
Employee
Employee

As a Sales Analyst, I need your help to know how my company's revenue grows throughout a period using the month-over-month growth formula :

(Month growth rate = (This month - Last month) / Last month)

I am looking for this insight:
Screen Shot 2022-12-21 at 2.22.13 PM.png

You can use the attached Sales data and Date lookup data. 

I know it is a little bit tricky, But  When you try it you will find it is fun 🙂

7 REPLIES 7

TCoomes
Partner
Partner

Hi Rasha, 
   My solution involved created a materialized view using the Spark SQL feature which created a table that showed , Year, Month, Mth Sum, and Previous Month Sum. I then loaded that Schema in and created a formula inside the insight to show the growth percentage. Im interested to see if you had the same solution. Ive attached my graphic below. 

TCoomes_1-1675786914671.png

JoeM
Community Manager
Community Manager

Great stuff @TCoomes !

LukeG
Employee
Employee

Not the most elegant, but I got the end result! Here is my solution:

1. Create analyzer table named MONTHLY_REVENUE with 3 columns: Year, Month, Revenue
  2. Create analyzer table named PREVIOUS_MONTHLY_REVENUE with 3 columns: Year, Month, Previous Month Revenue
  3. Join Tables on Year and Month
  4. Create visualization with the Year, Month, Revenue, Previous Month Revenue, and Growth Rate using the formula provided.

In step 2, you can represent the previous month revenue by adjusting the month by 1 year. After doing so, the sum of revenue will represent the previous month.

Excited to see some other solutions!

Screen Shot 2023-02-14 at 11.50.59 AM.pngScreen Shot 2023-02-14 at 11.52.06 AM.png

oabdelkarim
Employee
Employee

I asked ChatGPT to answer this question, here is his reply 😀:

To calculate the month-over-month growth rate in Incorta, you will need to perform the following steps: