cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PySpark log stdout

Piotrek82X
Rocketeer

I am building materialized view with Python Spark and since I am very new to Python I am struggling a little bit. In order to do some debugging I would like to be able to log some hints from the code, most likely in stdout (but I will be happy with any log that is accessible from Spark Master or Incorta itself). I tried few methods I found on Stack Overflow, but none of them worked. Any suggestions?

4 REPLIES 4

dylanwan
Employee
Employee

If you are using Incorta on-prem, you can access the Spark webUI for the Spark standalone cluster.  It depends on your Spark configuration. it is typically runnning under the spark machine with the port 9091. It looks like this page:

Screen Shot 2023-10-24 at 5.14.54 AM.png

You can then click on the application ID to access the Application page like below.

Screen Shot 2023-10-24 at 5.21.27 AM.png

The log file is accessible by clicking on the stderr link and the log looks like this page:

Screen Shot 2023-10-24 at 5.26.12 AM.png

 If you are using Incorta Cloud. 

The Spark history server page is accessible under https://xxx.cloudx.incorta.com/applications.

It includes the two pages, one for the completed jobs and the other for the incomplete jobs. It looks like this page. 

Screen Shot 2023-10-24 at 5.35.15 AM.png

You can download the event logs that is available as a json file.

I won't be able to describe how to read the event logs or how to debug here.  The above is about how to access the event logs.

Hope it helps.

HI, thanks, unfortunately it is not answer to my question. I know how to access Spark Master and how to read it. What I don't know is how to write to it from Python Spark Materialized View.